That One Job

Everyone has had that one job that they despised.  That one job that made you question your sanity.  Why did I apply here?  Why am I still here?  Will I ever leave here? 

That job for me was Chuck E. Cheese.  I initially applied when I was 16 thinking it would be perfect practice for my future career as a teacher.  Boy…was I wrong!  Most of the time, the job was bearable, but the worst part was when it was your time to be Chuck E.

Stepping into the mouse costume was like stepping into a college student’s dirty clothes that have been laying in the corner of the the dorm room for weeks, right next to the overflowing trash can. It was hot….smelly….and dirty.  Every time I stepped out of the mouse costume, I wanted to take six showers.  Right before I pulled that head on, I took a deep breath, and tried to breathe as little as possible while inside.  I wish I could say there was a positive side to being the Mouse, but I would be lying.

The main reason anyone had to put on the Mouse costume was for the Birthday Dance.  The dance where you stood in front of eight different parties and danced with the robotic band to the Birthday Song. I never actually caught onto the Birthday Dance, but a few good turns, some hand waving, and clapping was all anyone really needed to do.

Every child’s reaction to the mouse was different.  Some children ran and hugged you like you were Santa Claus.  While others saw you…screamed…and ran in the opposite direction.  And still you had the wonderfully, sweet, angels who pulled your tail and tried to stick their hands up your mouth.

I had many a dream, where I would stand in the middle of the game room, and with everyone watching, I would slowly pull off Chuck E’s head.  Yes, I know that would have crushed the dreams of many children, which is why I simply dreamed about it, and never actually followed through.  I still have nightmares about being stuck inside that costume and not being able to ever take it off….ever!

4 thoughts on “That One Job”

  1. I’ve never been to Chuck E. Cheese but like Robyn, I too am creeped out by strangers in those big costumes. I can’t imagine being inside of one. That image of slowly taking off the mouse head…ewww…creepy! Loved it.

  2. This is hilarious! I just read the beginning to my husband because I had to share it with someone. I really, really can’t believe you used to BE Chuck E. Cheese. I’ll never look at you the same again. 🙂

  3. Haa haaa haaaaa!!! Jessica, this is too funny! Your disgust jumped right off the page. I never would’ve imagined that those costumes are that gross. Your description drove it home: “…like stepping into a college student’s dirty clothes that have been laying in the corner of the the dorm room for weeks, right next to the overflowing trash can. It was hot….smelly….and dirty.” Now I’ll think twice about letting Jennah hug Chuck E.

Leave a comment