Me vs. The Gym

I love my soon to be husband more than anything on Earth, but his newest hobby is starting to make me reconsider my choice in spouses.

He has a new love in his life, and it is not me.  He’s head over heels for the gym!!  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am all about staying in shape and being healthy.  I try to hit the gym three to four times a week, but if I don’t reach that goal every week, it isn’t life or death.  Not with him, “I have to stick to my routine,” (said in a voice similar to The Hulk).

It started out simple enough; he would go two to three times a week and stay for about an hour and a half.  But now he is up to 2 (sometimes 3) hours, three to four times a week!  If it was just about the time he spent there, it wouldn’t be a big deal, but I think I’m going to have to take down all the mirrors in my house.  Any and every time he passes a mirror, I catch him flexing and checking himself out, and I only see it sometimes…who knows how many times he does it when he’s alone.  I swear the other day I say kiss marks on our full length mirror.

If he’s not flexing for himself, he’s flexing for me (or the cat, who knows anymore). Yes, I’m marrying you because I find you attractive, but when we met, he was lucky he knew how to get to the gym. I try to remain supportive because I know that’s what a wonderful soon to be wife would do, but I’m starting to lose my patience.

The other day he commented on how he’s losing weight so quickly. My response, “That’s great! Guys are lucky because they lose weight differently from women, and usually see results faster.”

I was hoping to hear, “You’re right, I’ve heard that too.” Instead I heard, “Nah, I just work out harder than you.” I’m sorry..what?!

All kidding aside, I have a great guy who will make me very happy….if I can figure out how to break up him and the gym.

4 thoughts on “Me vs. The Gym”

  1. “I swear the other day I saw kiss marks on our full length mirror.”
    “If he’s not flexing for himself, he’s flexing for me (or the cat, who knows anymore).”

    These two lines…HYSTERICAL!

  2. I can hear him using his “Hulk” voice! Love the sarcasm sprinkled throughout the piece…I think he is now flexing for the cat, btw!

Leave a comment