Feeling Emotional

Three months from today, I am going to be saying ‘I do’ to the crazy man who asked me to marry him.  I am currently feeling a whole plethora of emotions about my upcoming nuptials.

Joy and Excitement

Of course I am overjoyed to be marrying the man of my dreams.  I’m excited about becoming his wife and spending forever with him.  I can’t wait to put on my wedding dress…the only dress that has ever made me cry.  I am so pumped to throw the best wedding reception ever, and celebrate with all my friends and family. But there’s all that…

Stress

Three months is not a long time in the grand scheme of things, and I’m feeling the pressure.  When I first got engaged and people asked me how planning was going, I smiled brightly and responded with something cheerful.  Now when I’m asked, I plaster a fake smile on my face, girt my teeth, and simply say, “It’s going.”  I know it isn’t their fault, they are just being friendly, but lately I feel like every email, phone call, or text I receive has something to do with my wedding.  And as many educators know, our job usually comes home with us.  So, I’m trying really hard to balance work and wedding without my head exploding or my future husband asking for an early divorce.  And it doesn’t help that I’m constantly filled with…

Fear and Anxiety

Will I have everything done in time?  Will my wedding turn out as wonderful as I hope?  Will my crazy family hold it together for the night?  Will everyone have fun?  Are just a few of the questions running marathons in my head.

I’m going to be a wife?!  Me…the same girl who has, on occasion, picked up a pair of pants off the floor and smelled them to determine if they were clean enough for work because I was too lazy to do laundry.  Now I am going to become part of this equal partnership where we take care of each other.  I might actually have to start planning meals ahead of time.

Also, my family is now tripling.  My mom always jokingly told me to marry an orphan, and as usual I did not listen to her.  Instead I chose to marry a man who comes from a divorced family where both parents have remarried.  Now I will have TWO mother-in-laws who will be constantly asking, So, when are we getting grandchildren?

I have been told by many that everything I am feeling is normal, but I still feel like all my emotions are going to eventually cause a massive emotional breakdown.  In the next upcoming months, all I want to feel is…

Relief

12 thoughts on “Feeling Emotional”

  1. Congratulations! I wish for you the best of days – and an amazing future. It was so important for me to remind myself, daily almost, that the wedding is just the beginning of a bigger project (married life and all that jazz) that will be fun, scary, exhilarating, and stressful as well. Don’t sweat the small stuff – really. I know, it’s easy to say – but stay focused on what’s important. Take care of yourself!

  2. I just love this honest and well written post. OF COURSE getting married is one of life’s most stressful events! YOU are coping just fine….by writing down your myriad of thoughts.

  3. All those emotions- I love this. Pick your favorite most comforting one and hold onto that no matter what! It’ll all be worth every wrinkle and bump in the road along the way to that day and the many many many days following. 🙂

  4. Ahhh…the emotions of wedding planning!
    I love that you look at all the conflicting emotions, and are so honest about the “joys” of planning!

  5. It’s all so true! You are definitely not alone and i remember all of these feelings. Just try to remember that the lead up doesn’t even matter and no one will notice anything that goes wrong! Take a lot of mental pictures and love every minute! Good Luck!

  6. First off, hasn’t everyone picked up a pair of pants and smelled them to make sure they were clean enough to wear again??? Second, don’t fret about the actual wedding day. It will be perfect no matter what happens. It goes by so fast so just enjoy it! Third, I have nothing to say about the two mother-in-laws asking about grandkids because yes, that will happen. Probably at dinner that night.

  7. Oh, I remember all of that! It is all so real and you are right–there is such a plethora of emotions! Try to enjoy it all because it goes too fast! And then, the real fun begins. And I’m pretty sure my husband smells his pants to make sure they are clean enough to wear more often than he does not. 🙂

  8. Congratulations. This is the first piece that I have read that I wanted to respond to the content more than comment on the writing (which was wonderful). My husband and I are celebrating our second anniversary in May. Forgive me if you have heard this. A family friend told me, “There is no such thing as a perfect wedding.” Things will go wrong. You can’t prevent it, but you can try not to get worked up about it when it happens. It will still be a wonderful and beautiful wedding. My MIL was late to the church! I didn’t know until after, but they waited a few minutes and then we started without her. Another gem from an old friend, “If you are trying to impress people, you are inviting the wrong people.” Throw a great party but don’t worry about it being the best party. Focus on things that bring you joy and simplify the other stuff if you need to. It is going to be great.

  9. Hang in there. I am sure you will find relief through it all. Planning it can help you take one day at a time. Glad you are having an opportunity to share and get encouragement.

  10. My oldest son just got married (November) and made me a mother-in-law! It was so, so beautiful, such a fabulous day. We love our daughter-in-law! Remember, a wedding is amongst the best kind of stress to have!! I hope that you will remember to take care of yourself in the upcoming months – in the midst of everything, spend a few minutes doing something that soothes you, each and every day. Congratulations!!

Leave a comment