Nerd

My name is Jessica, and I am a nerd.

It all started when I was 6…my sister and I would argue over the television set on Sunday mornings.  I insisted that we watch Sesame Street because of its educational value.  My argument was solid, so I usually won.

School was my nerd haven!  I actually read during sustained silent reading, and groaned out loud when I was told to put my book down.  I devoured Goosebumps and Nancy Drew faster than the librarian could restock new books.  If given the choice between watching Power Rangers or reading, books won 95% of the time.

As I entered high school, my problem progressed.  I discovered the world of Harry Potter and I never, NEVER looked back.  I would tear through the books and then start them again.  I began to buy clothing that broadcasted the fact that I LOVED HARRY!  No matter what any of my peers said, I was not turning my back on Potter.

College came and I only grew as a nerd, but now, I was surrounded by people of my own kind.  When not in class, I was discussing the deep, emotional themes that encompassed Harry and his friends.  As if Harry wasn’t enough, the world of theater was introduced to me, and my fate as a nerd forever was sealed.

Now as an adult I spend my days stressing the importance of reading and learning to many young minds. Many think I am teaching, but I see it as introducing the world of nerd to all of them.  When not convincing innocent children to the Nerd Side , I am jumping into futuristic worlds, fractured fairy tales, and myths from all over.

My name is Jessica, and I am a nerd, and I wouldn’t want to be anything else.

7 thoughts on “Nerd

  1. This post is fabulous. I love this: “Many think I am teaching, but I see it as introducing the world of nerd to all of them. When not convincing innocent children to the Nerd Side , I am jumping into futuristic worlds, fractured fairy tales, and myths from all over.”

  2. I like the way you described your educational/reading pleasures at different stages in life. Unfortunately I didn’t discover my passion for reading until I was well into adulthood. Though, I feel fortunate to have at least found it. “When not convincing innocent children to the Nerd Side…” makes me picture someone working undercover to convince. So creative!

  3. Yes!!! You have definitely found the right profession! What a cute, humorous way to set up your slice. I read a few of your lines out loud for those around to enjoy. Great slice, jess!!!!

  4. There is nothing nerdy about your love of reading! I could feel your love of reading all the way through the slice. From start to finish, one of my favorite slices!

Leave a Reply

