Sing Along

I do not have a musical bone in my body, but music is so integral in my life.

My love for music started when I was ten years old and I first saw Grease.  I was enthralled with the love story between Danny and Sandy.  I sang along to Summer Nights, knew all the hand movements to Greased Lightnin, (not necessarily what they were actually singing about)and shoo-bob-de-bobed along with the gang to We Belong Together.  Now I am obsessed with musicals, and get to enjoy several a year with my girlfriends.

Animated Disney movies are my guilty pleasure.  I love the songs!!  After seeing Frozen, I have sang Let it Go more time than I can count (and care to admit).  I love the passion and fun that all Disney songs express.

I grew up on Clint Black, Garth Brooks, and Travis Tritt.  Country music is my true love.  There is nothing like a country concert.  Cowboy hats, boots, plaid, and cute cowboys.  I will never grow tired of my favorite singers twanging about pick up trucks, heartbreak, drinking, and southern living.

Dating Eric has opened up my eyes to a whole new side of music.  I have attended not one, but two Lollapaloozas.  I have walked through who knows what, stood in 90 degree weather to watch bands I have never heard of, and waited in line to use the most disgusting Port-a-Potties, but surprisingly loved every minute of it.  Eric and my music tastes are SO far apart, that it works.  I’m actually looking forward to my first Nine Inch Nail concert this summer.

Music does so much for me.  It entertains.  It brightens my mood.  It makes me cry my eyes out.  It pushes me through my workouts.  I may not have a musical bone in my body, but I have a love of music in my heart.

3 thoughts on “Sing Along”

  1. Music is that universal connector! Your blog is the third time today I’ve heard mention of the Frozen song, Let it Go (two other times it was used as the text we listened to/read during two separate workshops at TCRWP Saturday Reunion. Now I REALLY need to see that movie as I feel late to the party!!!

  2. My daughter is obsessed with all music, and Frozen is definitely her top fave. I’m in awe that you have the stamina for Lolla – I’ve heard there’s nothing like it!

Leave a comment