My Superheroes

ImageImage

On this wonderfully, wintery March day, I went downstairs to my supposedly already running car only to find it off…cold…and dead.  What an awesome way to start my ISAT Monday!

I couldn’t call Eric to take me to school because he was working way up north.  So, I called my go to guy, my dad.  Not only did my daddy take me to school, but he picked me up afterward.  Once again, my parents came to my rescue.  Just like they always do

I know many people say this about their parents. but I have two of the best parents a girl could ask for.  My mom and dad bend over backwards to care for my sister and me.  Even though I no longer live at home, I know that with one phone call either one of them will drop what they are doing to come to my aid.

During my teen years and my early twenties, I thought my parents were too strict and just didn’t understand me (hmmm, bet that sounds familiar to many).  And I definitely was not the easiest daughter to live with.  I did a lot of stupid things without asking because I figured it was better to do it first, and then ask for forgiveness later.  Unfortunately, the asking for forgiveness didn’t always go as smoothly as I initially planned, and I just wound up hurting my mom or  dad or both.

Now that I’m a bit older and wiser, I can see that everything my parents said and did (no matter how unfair it sounded to me at the time) was for my own good.  They made sure my sister and I had everything we needed.  Made sure I went to the college I wanted.  Took us on fabulous vacations (we are a Disney family through and through).  And no matter how dumb my mistakes were, they both love me unconditionally.

My mom and dad are my superheroes.  They may not be able to leap tall buildings or fly or moves things with their minds, but they do know how to raise children.  I can only hope that I can be the superhero to my children that my parents were to me and my sister.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Superheroes”

  1. What a fabulous post! I am in my 40s and still call my dad when there is car trouble. Even if my husband is working locally. 🙂
    Have a sane ISAT week, and may your car be better soon!

Leave a comment