Scattergories

 

One of my favorite games to play with my classes was Scattergories.  It’s a perfect game for all ages.  It’s such a simple concept.  Each group receives the same  list of categories and the same letter.  They then have a set amount of time to come up with words that start with that letter and fit each category on the list.  You score points when your word is not the same as any other group.

It is such a fun game to moderate.  They get so excited when they come up with a creative and original word.  They try to hide their disappointment when their word is the same as another group.  They encourage other groups when they see that they are becoming a bit downtrodden. They are competitive.  They are working together.  They are learning.  And they are having fun.

Every time we played,  I think I had as much fun, if not more, than the students.  But I have one suggestion…if you ever decide to play…look at the categories before you start.  My second year of teaching 6th graders, the letter ‘P’ came up, with the category ‘Body Parts.’

3 thoughts on “Scattergories”

  1. I love how you are able to take such simple ideas as a game you enjoy, and turn it into a fabulous slice! I will have to try this with my kiddos before the year is over- so fun! And I will definitely have to make sure I proof the game… Jr. High kids, the letter p, and a body part are absolutely not great combos! haha

Leave a comment