Sneaky, Angry, Surprise

Write. Share. Give.One of my mom’s favorite sayings is, “I hope you have five girls, just like you.”  I can’t really blame her.  I wasn’t an awful teenager, but I was far from perfect.

Like the one time, when I was 19, and I decided to get my belly button pierced specifically knowing my mother was not going to be happy about it.

A friend from work was having a Tattoo Party (basically a Mary Kay party, but you get tatted while there).  I had no intention of actually getting a tattoo, but I did want to get my belly button pierced, and the guy doing the tattooing also did piercing.  (I realize now how absolutely ridiculous this all sounds, and would probably kill my own daughter if she did it the way I did).

Once it was done, I figured I would have no trouble keeping it a secret.  All I had to do was make sure my stomach was covered at all times.  (Looking back now, not sure why I really even wanted one…it wasn’t like I walked around in crop tops).  I did a pretty decent job of keeping it hidden, eight whole months.  Then one day I made mistake.

One day I chose to wear a turtleneck that was a bit too tight.  My mom noticed and ‘gently’ ripped up my shirt to reveal my belly jewelry.  Needless to say, she was not very happy, which was made evident by her famous line, “What until your father gets home.”  Now I was terrified, if I upset my dad, then I was in real trouble.

I paced the floor waiting for my dad’s truck to pull into the driveway.  When I heard it, I hid in my room waiting for the angry voice of my dad calling me down.  Instead, he calmly called me into the dining room, and simply said, “Next time you want to do something that bad, can you at least talk to me first, so that I could possibly prep your mother?”

Needless to say, we were all a bit surprised that day.

7 thoughts on “Sneaky, Angry, Surprise”

  1. AHAHAHAHAHHA! Love this slice! I have found the worst punishment is the one we create in our heads.

  2. Loved your dad’s response. I’ve never heard of a tattoo party, but I did get a tiny tattoo on my ankle when I was in college. I’m still hiding it from my parents

  3. I got a tattoo when I was 47 years old. I managed to keep it ‘under the radar’ from my mom for all of 2 months. She didn’t take it so well. And then when she found out 2 of my kids had gotten them at the same time I did, well that didn’t go over so well either. She said to my dad ‘did you SEE what YOUR daughter did to herself?’ My dad just looked at her and said ‘she is old enough you know’ and looked away smiling to himself!

  4. Hah! This made me laugh. When I was younger, my mother threatened not to put me through college if I got my belly button pierced – but when I talked about a tattoo (and eventually got one), it was no-big-deal. Temporary? NO WAY. Permanent? SURE WHY NOT. Parents are funny creatures 🙂

  5. I think of the things my children have done that I didn’t approve of. I have learned to look past the things that really don’t matter and focus on the inner person. Your dad seems like a wise man.

Leave a comment