That Time of Year

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Here we go!  It’s that time of year again!

That time of year where on Monday you are shoveling your sidewalks, and on Friday you’re mowing your lawn.

That time of year when you go into the department store searching for that perfect spring jacket, but all you are greeted with are bikinis.

That time of year when you leave for work all bundled up in your scarf and gloves, but return home wearing just enough to make you appropriate for public.

That time of year where you’re torn between wearing your boots or your sandals.

That time of year where every day the sun shines a minute more than the previous day.

Oh and of course…

That time of year when writers all over the country open up their minds and hearts to colleagues and strangers.

That time of year when writers of all ages and backgrounds challenge themselves to share slices of hope and fear and happiness.

That time of year when writers of all levels are inspired by slices written by peers they have never met.

That time of year when we all are connected through our love of writing.

Here we go!  It’s that time of year…the Slice of Life Challenge!

 

 

10 thoughts on “That Time of Year”

  1. Beautifully written! I thought you were going there with the time of year for writing, but you caught me off guard in a really cool way. Yes! I thought as I read. It is such crazy weather! Then, the you went to the writing challenge and i felt affirmed. Thanks for this!

  2. I am so happy it is “that time of year.” Welcome back! I look forward to hearing your voice in your pieces. It always comes through so clear. Happy March!

  3. Yes!!!! It is the best month of the year for so many reasons! I was thinking about the weather just this morning as I tried to wrestle Aubrey back into her winter coat! Great Slice! So excited for this month!

  4. That time of year, so perfect and all so true! I put on my boots this morning, but hey, maybe by tomorrow or this afternoon I’ll have my sandals out. lol

  5. Beautiful description of the crazy weather we are experiencing lately! Super excited to continue reading your slices this challenge! 🙂

  6. You’ve written a beautiful poem, and I’m glad it’s “that time of year” too. The vagaries of March are just right for our writing, not the same, but something new every day.

  7. How about those bikinis, ugh! And the boot/sandal battle! I can so relate to everything you wrote. Thanks for slicing with us, can’t wait to read more 🙂

Leave a comment