Looking Ahead

Kids love looking ahead to big events. Birthdays. Holidays. Vacations. Summer.

Adults like to look ahead to simpler things.

Monday morning, we look ahead to Friday afternoon.

First day of winter, we look ahead to spring.

The warm up, we look ahead to the cool down.

Beginning of the Zoom, we eagerly look ahead to hitting the ‘Leave Meeting’ button.

And last year, we ALL looked ahead to 2021.

But me, I’m looking ahead to something even more simplistic.

I’m looking ahead to Tuesday, March 30th.

I know, that seems like a random date.

No, it’s not my birthday. (At this point in my life, birthdays are not something I look ahead to.). Nor is it the birthday of anyone I love.

Tuesday, March 30th occurs during Spring Break, and…

I’m looking ahead to sleeping in!

Now I am very aware that there are three full weekends between now and then. The thing is, I don’t like to sleep in on weekends. I feel that since I only have two days off, I’d rather not spend those precious days sleeping the hours away. So, typically I try to rise and shine nice and early on weekends.

But what about Monday, March 29th? Nope, not sleeping in! Mondays are for grocery shopping. I am not a people person, so the earlier I can get to the store to avoid the crowds, the better.

But on Tuesday, March 30th…

There will be no alarms. The blinds will be tightly closed. And my phone will be silenced.

Because all I have been looking ahead to is sleeping in!!

3 thoughts on “Looking Ahead”

  1. Interesting that you’re craving this random date. With my husband being a fireman, Saturday and Sunday (and even holidays) don’t hold the same feeling for me as they do to others. I’ll be counting down for you!

  2. Oh man…Your line about looking forward to hitting the ¨End Call”on Zoom really hits home with me. I think a break from my computer is what I am looking forward to the most, but sleeping in may be a close second!

  3. Ending Zoom, yes. Fast forwarding through winter- heck no! Lol. I love the list and the date you have to look forward to. Makes me think of an idea for a slice about sleeping in… thanks!

Leave a comment