A New Tenant

I hate bugs.  I hate them outside in their natural habitat.  And I despise them inside in my natural habitat.  So much so, I have a pesticide company that comes out at least four times a year to spray.

About a month ago, I walked into my kitchen and found a nicely sized spider hanging out on the wall.  My first instinct was to call my husband in to do the dirty work, but I then remembered he was out for the night.  My silly fear was getting the best of me, and I knew I wasn’t going to try and kill this spider by myself.  So I named her Charlotte.

And decided to let her live rent free.

Over the next few weeks, Charlotte was a pretty good roommate.  I saw her a few times on my kitchen wall and ceiling, but mostly she spent her days hidden in the molding.

It wasn’t the easiest relationship because I would still do a quick scan every time I entered my kitchen, and let’s be honest, you go into the kitchen A LOT.  I just felt, at this point, it would be mean to kill her.

That was until this morning…

At 4:30 this morning, as I was getting ready to go to the gym, I walked into my kitchen and noticed Charlotte dangling from my fan.  That. Was. It.  I was fine sharing space with Charlotte, as long as she was living above my line of sight.  But when you start hanging out in places were I could literally run into you face first, I’m done.

So, Charlotte was issued her eviction notice.  Don’t worry, I didn’t squash her.  I simply caught her in a cup and let her go outside.

I can’t promise I’ll be as nice the next time.

4 thoughts on “A New Tenant”

  1. Once (also at 4:30am, oddly enough), a lovely wolf spider crawled out from under my closet door. I could by no means squash it – it was large enough that it would “crunch” – oh I can NOT deal with the “crunch”. So, I frantically ran into the kitchen, grabbed a cup, and placed it over the spider. Problem solved, right? Well, then I realized that the cup was right in front of my closet door. I still needed to get dressed for the day. That was an interesting morning, to say the least.

Leave a comment