Call Me By My Name

I have a friend named Samantha, who I affectionately call Sam.  I have been calling her Sam for the last eight plus years.  It was only until about three years ago, that I learned she hated being called ‘Sam.’   I’ve never actually asked her why she disliked it so much, but I can only assume it is one of three reasons:

  1.  She doesn’t like that ‘Sam’ is not a very feminine nickname.
  2.  Because she is a Literacy teacher, she prefers three syllables to one.
  3.  Maybe she had a traumatic event that involved the TV show Cheers, and just the name ‘Sam’ reminds her too much of Ted Danson’s character Sam Malone.

It actually surprises me that she is not a fan of the shortened version of her name.  I grew up being called Jess.  If anyone actually called me Jessica, they were

  • Being formal because it is the first time we have met.
  • Really angry at me.
  • Or just didn’t like me.

My mother actually named me Jessica in hopes that everyone would call me Jessie, but Jess stuck, and only my family calls me Jessie.

In my opinion, when someone calls you by some sort of nickname, it is a show of affection.  It shows a closeness and a personal relationship.  I still get excited when I meet someone new, and they call me Jess for the first time.  So, despite her dislike for the nickname, I plan on continuing to use it.  Mostly because I’m going to force her to read this, so she understand why.  Because I cherish her friendship.

9 thoughts on “Call Me By My Name”

  1. I love your reasons for why Samantha might not prefer being called Sam, especially the Literacy teacher/syllable connection! HA! I’m Christina-only-when-I’m-in-trouble!
    Fun slice!

  2. We weren’t allowed to have nicknames. My father, Earl, was named after his father, Earl, and got called Sonny. He hated it – even though it was probably meant to be affectionate – and insisted we were all always called by our full names.

Leave a comment