Sump ‘Pump’ed Up

I was blessed with two very hands on parents.  My mom and dad didn’t call repair men, they took care of pretty much everything on their own.  And, lucky for me, they passed down their DIY skills eagerly.

Whenever my parents were doing some sort of home project, both my sister and I were right next to them, ready to learn.  We loved helping them and they loved our assistance, even, if at times, we were more of a hindrance than a help. My mom and dad taught us how to use tools, paint walls, follow instructions, and be confident in our abilities.

At first, my husband doubted my know-how.  The day after we closed on our new home, I looked at him and said, “I’m going to change the locks while you’re at work, okay?”

He laughed at me, nodded his head, and said, “Sure, I’ll help you when I get off.”  He’s lucky I love him, enjoy proving him wrong, and gave him the new copies when he got home.  He quickly learned to have faith in my talent.

So, today, when after finding out our sump pump’s life had expired, my husband turned to me and said, “I can’t miss work, you’ve got this, right?”

My first reaction was…Oh no, I’ve never watched my dad change a sump pump.  But then, I quickly  recovered, searched it up on YouTube, and went to purchase my supplies.  After two trips to the local hardware store, I was ready to roll.

I grabbed my tool box and dove right in.  Like most home projects, it was not as easy as I thought it was going to be.  There was much more involved than simply pulling out the old on and sliding in the new .  I sawed PVC, measured multiple times, fit it together to find out it wasn’t right, swore a few times, glued the pipe, and finally closed the lid.  I crossed my fingers and prayed to the plumbing gods before I hesitantly plugged in the sump pump…

The sound of water rushing up the pipes, draining from the pit, and not spraying all over my basement, was music to my ears.  I celebrated with a few fist pumps and some wonderfully awkward dance moves.  And then I picked up the phone and called my parents…”Hey, guess what I just did!”

6 thoughts on “Sump ‘Pump’ed Up

  1. You are seriously my hero. No joke. I love how I was right along with you the whole time and could picture said fist pumps. 🙂 Now I am going to forget I read this lest my husband gets any ideas I can do these types of things around our house. lol.

  2. I love this! I wish I was as hands-on, do-it-myself as much as you are! I’m too big of a wuss, and scared I’ll break something, to be a DIY’er! Awesome job!

  3. High five!

    I am not as adept as you at home repair, but YouTube has helped me with a washing machine and a dishwasher repair. I sometimes am not its biggest fan, but it certainly is a good resource in the most unexpected ways!

Leave a Reply

