It Was LOVE!

 

Write. Share. Give.

I enjoyed reading before Harry Potter, but I didn’t LOVE it.

I remember my mom and dad reading books to my sister and I when we were young.  Love You Forever, The Monster at the End of the Book, and any other Golden Book we owned.  I always enjoyed hearing the character voices and love from my parents when they shared stories with us.  But it still wasn’t LOVE.

I remember devouring R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series when I was in 3rd grade.  I gasped at the end of every cliffhanging chapter and jumped at the scary parts.  But it still wasn’t LOVE.

I remember growing up and choosing more complex novels.  A Time for Andrew, Time Windows, and anything by Christopher Pike.  I finished one novel and quickly moved on to the next.  Checking out books that looked half way decent and could hold my attention for at least the majority of the story.  But it still wasn’t LOVE.

Then I met Harry and his friends and something clicked.  Suddenly Harry’s life wasn’t just a story, it was a world.  A world I would visit and get lost in.  A world where Harry’s triumphs made me feel accomplished.  Where Harry’s losses brought me to tears.  Harry Potter  opened my eyes.  I was in LOVE!!

I suddenly had a new perspective on reading.  I became a part of the world I was reading, not just a visitor who stopped in for a tour.  I shared all the emotions the characters experienced.  I picked books that made me think while reading.  Books that, even days after finishing, stayed with me and haunted my daily thoughts.  When one book ended, I yearned for the next one to fill the void.

I may have thought I LOVED reading before Harry, but I had no idea what it meant to be IN LOVE with reading.

 

7 thoughts on “It Was LOVE!

  1. This makes me think about how my students responded to Harry when he first entered the world. My 7th graders were the same age him when he first went to Hogwarts, and then felt like they grew up with him.. I’m sure those books moved them to love reading like they did for you!

  2. and I LOVE this post! HP is HUGE for so many of us in the world, and it bonds those of us in the fandom. There is absolutely something magical in the way it connects with people.

  3. I have always loved books but as for my students I can testify that Harry is often the turning point, the time and place when they realize they love books! I love your post and especially, “I became a part of the world I was reading, not just a visitor who stopped in for a tour.” Great! Thank you!

  4. Are we the same person? I ‘m beginning to think so- I could follow the same path of books. The characters of HP are a part of my family at this point- my husband thinks I am nuts. But I don’t care. Never before has a book taken the world of kids lit by storm like that series did. You can’t beat that. You just can’t.

  5. I love Harry Potter too! It’s so much fun to watch my 10 year old fall in love worth them too. She’s started on the series for the 2nd or 3rd time. 🙂 Now if I can just get us to Harry Potter World! 🙂

  6. I love your description of what it means to be in love with a book. “A world I could visit and get lost in.” Yes, I know this feeling. I felt it while reading Piers Anthony’s Xanth series and then later his Incarnations of Immortality series. I think those were the first books I truly loved. Thanks for taking me back!

Leave a Reply

