Roller Coaster of Excitement? Fear?

When I go on a roller coaster or scary amusement park ride for the first time, it’s like I’m making a life or death decision.  I go through a wide variety of feelings and stages.

I start out convincing myself that I will be perfectly fine.  I’m super positive!  At this point, I’m actually a bit excited about getting on the ride.

It doesn’t look too scary.  I mean, what could go wrong?  It’s been tested hundreds of times!  The whole ride is what, three minutes? I can handle that.

Then as the line slowly creeps forward, my anxiety starts to increase.  Now I begin rambling, just talking and talking. I start to ask questions to whoever isn’t annoyed by me yet, hoping their answers reassure me.

I mean that drop isn’t that steep, right?  Do you think I can handle it?  If you were going to compare this to another ride I’ve been on, which would it be?

By now, we are 3/4 of the way through the line and my anxiety is about to boil over.  My heart is pounding, but I refuse to chicken out!  I suddenly become very quiet.  So quiet, that when asked a question, I simply nod.  I’m afraid if I open my mouth, I’m either going to cry or throw up.

I can do this!  I mean look at that kid in front of me, he’s got to be like 7 years old.  If he can do it, I can do it. I’ve come this far, I need to be an adult and just go through with it.

Finally we come to our turn to board the ride.  I take several deep breaths and settle into the seat.  I triple check the seat belts and lap bars because I don’t trust the quick tap through that the 18 year olds who are either bored out of their minds or hate their jobs perform.  Once the ascent begins I realize that there is no turning back, and I try not to look over the side at the long fall way down.  I succumb to the adrenaline, open my mouth, and scream.

One thought on “Roller Coaster of Excitement? Fear?

  1. I just experienced that same feeling when we went on a helicopter ride. Though, unlike you I will never do it again. Been there, done that! 🙂 I enjoyed the different stages of thinking/anxiety you experienced. So true!

Leave a Reply

