I Love Being Grounded

“It’s an adventure!”

“Think about how much fun we are going to have.”

Zip-lining through the rainforest sounded wonderful, at first.  I had been zip-lining once, but the entire length of it was probably 50 feet, and if I would have fallen, the worst that would have occurred was a sore bum.  I was super excited, until I saw the equipment and heard the instructions.  The harness seemed pretty legit, the gloves smelled horrible and probably had been wore by hundreds, and my instructors….barely spoke English.

The first climb wasn’t that scary, but I quickly changed my tune.  The end of every line just brought us to another platform that was ten feet taller than the last one.  As I climbed each step, I tried not to look down, but I was too scared to look up.  So, I focused on one thing…eventually having both of my feet on solid ground (and not because the line broke.)

Eric whizzed through the trees without a second thought.  All I kept hearing was, “Look at how beautiful everything looks up here!”  Too bad I was too focused on stopping myself before I slammed into the tree that was rushing at my face several miles an hour.  Stopping was not my strength.  I either stopped too late and prayed that I missed the tree or I stopped to soon and was hanging ten feet from the platform, turning circles.  I then had to hand pull myself to the platform.

When we finally touched the ground, I had never been so relieved in my life!  In movies, when people kiss the ground, I used to laugh and think they were being so dramatic, but I almost got on my knees and married that terra firma.

7 thoughts on “I Love Being Grounded

  1. That did it, I won’t ever do zip lining. Your description named all my fears and I am too old to have to prove something. Nuh-uh, not this old gal.

  2. Wow! You are a brave soul! Some people say you should try everything at least once. I, however, am not one of those people. Zip lining is definitely not my cup of tea. I would maybe read about it, or even watch it on tv, possibly at the movies, but definitely not at the IMAX. For me that would be too much like the real thing. Glad you survived!

Leave a Reply

