The Moment I Knew

Believe it or not, my dream of becoming a teacher started with a nightmare.

I was in 1st grade and we were sitting down for Circle Time.  This was my favorite time of day.  It was the time of day when we got the chance to share our writing from our journals.  I was sitting criss-cross applesauce and casually rocking back and forth on my bottom.  Then suddenly…before I could stop it…I farted!  To me, it sounds like the loudest sound on Earth.  Only second to the sounds of my classmates laughing.

I jumped up and started to run for the classroom door.  I wasn’t sure exactly where I was going, but I wanted to be any where but in that room.  Before I reached the door, my teacher, Mrs. Ponder, caught me in a bear hug.  She whispered in my ear and told me that everything would be okay.  I believed her, because I trusted she would keep me safe, and she was right.

From that moment, all I have ever wanted to be was a teacher.  Yes, I wanted to teach to instill knowledge into children, but I also wanted to make sure other children felt that safety.

11 thoughts on “The Moment I Knew

  1. I love this story! You didn’t want to be a teacher because of the homerun lesson, You wanted to become a teacher so that you could make children feel safe and want to be in the classroom, just like your teacher. Oh how that makes me think about what is the most important.

  2. How we respond and the words we say are very important. Your teacher just sensed that she should be there for you. I hope that I pick up on my students’ emotional needs so that I can be supportive. Many times, it is not always easy as teachers to drop everything and run to the aid of a child if, for example, you are attempting to build the child’s confidence that she can do the task independently. On the other hand, it is as if we are lifting children over the hurdle when we notice their need to be understood so that they can keep running the track. No one can teach you as a teacher how to be understanding, but it is truly a skill that is developed by empathy. Deciding that you wanted to be a teacher at that pivotal moment in your life is related to your emotional need being met right then. Our childhood emotions are our rudder and guide us down our respective courses in life. Thanks so much for sharing this slice as it reminds me of the importance of responding with care.

Leave a Reply

