Name Changer

As is custom, when a girl gets married, she changes her last name to her new husband’s.  The more I think about changing my name, the more my feelings get mixed up…

Pros to becoming Mrs. Gibbons:

– I move up in the alphabet.

– It is A LOT easier to spell. (And most people can pronounce it without much help.)

– I have ALWAYS been excited about being a Mrs. one day

Cons to becoming Mrs. Gibbons:

– As my students nicely reminded me…a Gibbons is a howling monkey.  So…my new name: Mrs. Howling Monkey

– Since my parents never had a son, the Tuohy name ends with my dad.  That fact saddens me.

– Throughout high school and even now, I am usually known simply as Tuohy. I’ve always thought it has had a great ring to it.

Thankfully I have over a year to let the idea settle.

9 thoughts on “Name Changer

  1. It’s not easy changing the name that you’ve known all your life. I never could do it. Maybe you’ll decide to hyphenate…I hear it’s the best of both worlds!

  2. I’m a first-time Slicer too! I found your post interesting because, even though it’s not likely to occur any time in my immediate future, I often think about the consequences of changing my name, and whether I would do it at all if I got married. It’s a big change! It’s good to know there are other people out there thinking about the same thing.

  3. You will always be Tuohy to me:) I love that you turned this life changing event into a Pro/Con list. Rory Gilmore would be proud of you:-)! It is an interesting way to share your excitement and fears!

  4. Welcome! I think the one thing I have thought about repeatedly, when I think about the potential of becoming a “Mrs.” is that all of my classroom library books have “Property of Miss B…” on them, and I am not sure I want to change all 500+ of them!! 🙂 Great first slice!!

Leave a Reply

